GCSE numerical grading

GCSEs are changing.  Below is an overview of what is happening:

  • GCSE grades are changing from letters to numbers.
  • New GCSEs will be graded 9–1, instead of A*–G.  
  • The new system aims to provide more differentiation, especially among higher achieving students.
  • 9 will be the top grade (set above the current grade A*), and 1 will be the lowest.  
  • 4 will be roughly equivalent to grade C.
  • 7 and above is roughly equivalent to grade A and above.  
  • The top 20% of those awarded a 7 or above will be awarded a 9. 
  • Students will first receive the new numerical grading system in August 2017 for English language, English literature and mathematics.  
  • By 2019, all GCSE results will be using the new system.